Wrapping up

I’ve been talking about nothing but politics for the past week, and I’ve also written more words in the last week than I have in the previous month. I am getting tired. While I’m not swearing off politics altogether, I don’t think I’m going to stick with this “all politics, all the time” format that I’ve stumbled into though, even if I’ve got more to say on the subject. To that end, I’m going to summarize my thoughts on the topic in this post — even though each of these points deserves to have an essay of its own. The fact is, I have very little time, so I’m going to try to keep this short. I guarantee it will not be sweet.

What just happened? Some whites felt resentment over the advancement of minorities, and a demagogue exploited that resentment, rolling that group of voters into a coalition that also includes some formerly establishment Republicans, and giant corporate interests, among others. This same process is occurring throughout the West.

Are ***** voters bad people? Depends on how you define what a bad person is. Some of them are, for sure. Maybe the rest are, maybe they aren’t, but they did a bad thing and they should be ashamed of what they’ve done.

What do we do now? I’m not going to tell anyone what to do, and honestly you probably already know what to do, but if you’re asking for my terrible advice: You should do whatever you need to do to protect yourself and, possibly, your family. You should also do whatever you can to protect others, if you’ve got the guts. Sometimes the only way to stop a machine is to throw your body into the gears. Only you can decide whether or not to take that step, on behalf of the people out there who are suffering more acutely than yourself. Your call. But don’t do nothing.

What’s going to happen? I’ve been thinking about this a lot. So has everyone else in the world. But predicting the future is a sucker’s game, especially for me. I start out all right, but after awhile I spiral off into paranoid fantasy. And then something worse than everything I imagined winds up happening anyway. There are better sources for prognostication out there than me.

Where do you stand politically/philosophically? I don’t generally get along with humanity. But I despise human suffering, and I detest the choices and actions that people take that increase it. This election represents a vote to increase the overall level of human suffering, for no better reason than a pack of unfounded fears and misplaced resentment, sold to the general public by selfish assholes more interested in lining their own pockets, then in the general welfare of the species. And it disgusts me. Liberal? Conservative? Nah. Just disgusted.

All right, back to allowing myself to talk about toys and shit on a website that nobody (hopefully) can see.

Leave a Reply

