False recovery

I didn’t realize I had a cold. It’s just been so hot recently, hot enough that it made me feel unwell, which masked the fact that I was actually sick. In my ignorance, I may have infected others with my cold. I’m sorry. Also, I burned up all my sick time, so I have to be in the office anyway. Uh, tough luck, I guess?

But that’s not what I want to talk about.

You know how, when you’re not feeling well, sometimes you suddenly, out of nowhere, feel all right for a second? Not necessarily perfect, but say you stand up for a second without feeling dizzy or weak, and you think, “Huh, that’s weird, I seem to be all better — wait no, here we go,” and then you collapse back down into your seat or bed or whatever. It almost makes being sick worth it.

Leave a Reply

